Categorized | Sports

Former resident guides Lethbridge rink to title

Former Fort Macleod resident John Wood led his Lethbridge team to Victory in the annual men’s bonspiel held Thursday to Saturday at the Fort Macleod Curling Club.
Wood, along with third Ed Granger, second Charles Funk and lead Doug Mullin defeated local skip Bruce Faulkner 9-2 in the A final Saturday afternoon.
The game was very close through the first five ends but Wood scored three in the sixth end followed by three more in the seventh to take control.
Faulkner’s teammates were Dwayne Skog, Lyle Toews and Jady Sharp.
In the B event Harvey Bourassa with Daryl Arnott and Craig Northey defeated Neil Barr, Shane Doyle and Jim Monteith by a score of 7-3.
Two Lethbridge teams battled for the C event honours with Ken Holmes and his crew defeating Kevin Whittmire 10-2.
The Ken Holmes team included Kent Perry, Phil Legge and Les Whitfield while Whittmire was joined by Ron Hust, Doug Mickey and Jeff Hust.
Sixteen teams attended the bonspiel, the last event for the curling club’s season.

Comments are closed.

Subscribe Online

Other Stories in this Category

Photo Albums – what’s new

Here are some images from the Fort Macleod Checkmates Car Club’s show ‘n’ shine on June 15.


South Country Fair is upon us on July 19-21, which begs the question, which of these acts is tops on your list to see?