Categorized | News

Livingstone Range salutes young artists

Young artists continue to emerge every year in Livingstone Range School Division.
And every year Livingstone Range continues its efforts to recognize and promote the young artists by displaying their work in a gallery in the school division central office.
“Every year it gets a bit bigger, so that’s good,” said Karen Paton, an art teacher at Livingstone school in Lundbreck.
Each year students are invited to submit work for the Emerging Artists Gala at the school division office in Claresholm.
Students receive $25 and a certificate and their work is on display throughout the year.
Paton said people who come to the gala or view the work throughout the year are often surprised by the high quality of the work. Parents and students also have an interesting reaction when they see the students’ work framed and on display.
“It’s very common that it is surprise,” Paton said. “And the artists too are surprised.”
Paton as an art teacher is pleased the school division puts such value on the arts by support the Emerging Artists Gala.
The work chosen for display in 2010-11 ranged from watercolour paintings to lino cuts, and from tempera paint to mixed media. There is also work done in oil pastel, yarn and paper plate, ceramics, found objects, graphite and acrylic paint.
The following student artists have work on display at central office: Crowsnest Consolidated school – Sydney Koevoet, Darby Beaudoin, Riley Ellison, Marissa Gardiner, Levon Montgomery, Jace Bohmer, Amelia Caron and Alicen Montalbetti.
Horace Allen school – Chris Collings, Emma Tkachuk, Madison Harrison, Emmett Morrow, Maeve Rothlin, Jasmine Sydora, Kiera Wheelock, Haylee Williams and Jessi Wilson.
Isabel Sellon school – Bobby Bedward, Kirsten Draper, Macey Fuller, Katie Fyten, Allyssa Michalski and Kristen Parsons.
Thompson colony school – David Tschetter.
Livingstone school – Indie MacGarva, Jillisa Finn-Fraser, Morgan Michalski, Ryan Smith, Cord Delinte, Kim Wiebe, Shaelyn Nelson, Matt Phillips, Lane Paidel, Rachel Braun, Reed Pisony, Sarah Valiquette, Amanda Erikson and Starlene Thompson.
Matthew Halton high school – Tessa Pitt, Jack Dietz, Annika Lewis, Tessa Manners, Samantha Stushnoff, Shaelynn Schmidt and Donita McCollister. Willow Creek Composite – Lindsey Uhl, Olga Zaporoshchenko, Kaytlin Sawchuk, Carlina Ulrich, Brandon Fisher, Matt Sawchuk, Veronica Torrens and Nichole Van Rootselaar.
No work was submitted this year from schools in Fort Macleod, Granum, Stavely or Nanton.

Tags |

Comments are closed.