Categorized | Sports

Alumni hoop tournament set

The F.P. Walshe Flyers alumni basketball tournament returns Friday and Saturday, Dec. 30-31 with a new look.
Six teams have been picked from the players who signed up, with players of all ages mixed on each roster.
In previous years the teams were formed according to age.
“We wanted to mix up the teams a bit and we feel these teams will make for a very intriguing and competitive tournament,” said Thomas Gunderson, one of the tournament organizers.
Teams 1, 3 and 5 will make up Pool A with teams 2, 4 and 6 in Pool B.
The teams will play a round-robin with the top two teams in each pool advancing to the semifinal games at 12 noon and 1:15 p.m. Saturday.
The bottom teams in each pool will play the Prairie Pride game Saturday at 2:30 p.m.
The losers of the semifinal games meet Saturday at 3:45 p.m. in the third-place game.
The championship game is at 5 p.m. Saturday.
Tentative plans are to have the two women’s alumni teams play at 10:50 a.m. Saturday. That game is in jeopardy due to low registration.
The rosters for the alumni tournament teams are as follows.
Team 1 — Matt Bullock, Danny Lam, Adam Quinton, Jason Ronald, Orrin Ronald, Levi Ronald, Colin Bond, Brant Bond and Marty Conrad.
Team 2 — Jordan Gunderson, Matt Burbank, Mark Burbank, Brad Orr, Travis Van Driesten, Matt Orr, Clayton Orr and Dale Boychuk.
Team 3 — Thomas Gunderson, Mike Derricott, Aaron Poytress, Jeff Viens, Mark Smallbones, Justin Zoeteman, Stu Zoeteman, Mike Orr, Ben Orr and Mo Gunderson.
Team 4 — Tim Whitehead, David Gunderson, Broc Higginson, Wayne Provost, Randy Whitehead, David Orr, Jesse Lybbert, Stu Poettcker, Taylor Wolstenholme and Brayden Russell.
Team 5 — Jason Jessen, Hutch Orr, Clayton Derricott, Landon Schneider, Caleb McGale, Wes Gurney, Jeff Perry, Mark Perry and Chris Baxter.
Team 6 — Jared Poytress, Ryan Zam, Shay Mandel, Andy Orr, Ben Foote, Brayden Clarke, Dalton Donahue, Jordan Ruzek and Jason Doyle.

Comments are closed.