Categorized | News

Chamber set to honour Macleod’s top citizen

The Chamber of Commerce will honour Fort Macleod’s Citizen of the Year on Wednesday, Oct. 19.
The awards banquet will be held at Luigi’s Pizza and Steakhouse.
“It should be a very nice affair,” Chamber president Srecko Ponjavic said.
Only 80 tickets are available for the banquet, which gets under way at 6 p.m.
The Chamber will also present awards for community enhancement, customer service and outstanding business.
Award nominations for the 2011 awards must be submitted in a sealed envelop by Friday, Oct. 14 to Srecko Ponjavic at ATB Financial or Emily McTighe at The Macleod Gazette.
The key award to be presented at the banquet is Citizen of the Year, an award first given in 1957 to Albert Swinarton.
Subsequent Citizens of the Year in Fort Macleod were Reed Ainscough, Dan Boyle, Jack Griffin, John Davis Sr., Ted Kreutzer, Mabel Hyssop, A.A. Neddow, Bob Burke, Orwell Stewart, Hugh Craig and Lillian McLean.
After a 10-year break, the awards program resumed with Margaret Moses being honoured in 1980. Subsequent recipients were Joe Jordan, Walter Hyssop, Pam Young, Glenda Maskowitz, Jim Burger, Derek Hoskin, Dave Coutts, Frank Eden and Wes Olmstead.
The tradition continued with the presentation of the award to Ted Larson, Harry Urwin, Karen Christie, Len Hatton, George Bannerman, Nina Bent, Diana Segboer, Jim Monteith, Thane and Joy Hurlburt, George Brown Sr., Jean Robinson, Craig Patton, George Gaschler and Jody Litle.
The Community Enhancement Award has been presented to the Rotary Club of Fort Macleod, Young Parkyn McNab Chartered Accountants, Hansen’s IGA, South Country Fair and the Police College Task Force.
The Outstanding Business Award has gone to Frans Feyter Construction Ltd., Falcan Industries Ltd., Scougall Motors, Hansen’s IGA and The Macleod Gazette.
The inaugural Service Award was presented to Phil and Edie Hodnett of Hodnett’s Rexall Drug Store, followed by Economy Cashway Lumber, Fort Macleod Fire Department, Fort Macleod UFA and Marci Stockton.