Categorized | Sports

Flyers scare up title at Monster Smash

The F.P. Walshe Flyers won the championship of the Monster Smash tournament at Vulcan. Back row, from left: assistant coach Phillip Plourde, Colton Prete, Nathan Orr, Cody Van Driesten, Logan Gregory, Austin Hurlburt, Brayden Hurlburt, Taylor Atwood and coach Craig Patton. Middle row: Clayton Dorn, Justin Atwood, Marcus Plourde and Brett Burrows. Front: Brad Burrows and John Woynarowsky.

F.P. Walshe Flyers broke the hearts of the County Central Hawks and their fans Saturday by winning the annual Monster Smash senior boys’ volleyball tournament.
It was the second year in a row the archrival Flyers had gone into the Vulcan school to win the Monster Smash title.
The Flyers were lead by Grade 12 veterans Logan Gregory, Austin Hurlburt, Brad Burrows, Colton Prete, Brayden Van Driesten and John Woynarowsky.
“They all played very well all weekend,” Flyers coach Craig Patton said.
F.P. Walshe opened the round-robin portion of the tournament Friday against Acme.
The Flyers won the first set 25-19 and closed the match out with a 25-21 decision in the second set.
In their second round-robin match the Flyers caged Senator Gershaw Gators from Bow Island.
The Flyers won the first set 25-18 and made it a sweep with a 25-20 win in the second set.
F.P. Walshe closed out the round-robin against Highwood Mustangs from High River.
The Flyers won the first set 25-16 to stretch their unbeaten streak in the tournament to five sets.
With first place in their pool secured, Patton played his junior varsity players in the second set against Highwood.
The Mustangs managed a tight 25-19 win over the Flyers.
The Flyers then had a preliminary playoff match against the Acme junior varsity team, and swept the Redmen 25-15 and 15-12.
The Flyers quarterfinal match turned out to be the match-up everyone had been anticipating for the tournament final.
The Flyers found themselves facing host County Central, who lost their pool match to Vauxhall and wound up in second place.
The Flyers won the first set 25-21 and completed the sweep with a 25-18 victory in the second set.
The Flyers advanced to the semifinals, where their opponent was rival Picture Butte Kings.
F.P. Walshe crowned the Kings 25-18 and 25-20 to move on to the tournament final.
The tournament championship was like a home game for Acme as the Hawks and their fans got behind the Redmen.
“It was a very pro-Acme crowd,” Patton said. “It was a great atmosphere. The gym was very, very loud.”
Acme had defeated Senator Gershaw and Vauxhall to get to the final.
The Flyers took control of the championship match with a 25-17 win in the first set.
Acme rallied in the second set and led throughout.
With Acme up 23-21 the Flyers staged a dramatic rally to win the set — and the championship — 25-23.
The Flyers are Colton Prete, Brad Burrows, Austin Hurlburt, John Woynarowsky, Brayden Van Driesten, Logan Gregory, Nathan Orr, Clayton Dorn, Taylor Atwood, Cody Van Driesten, Justin Atwood, Marcus Plourde and Brett Burrows.

Subscribe Online Current Edition

Explore Spectacular Southwest Alberta (PDF)

2021 Explore Southwest Alberta magazine cover