Categorized | News

Economic developers reward Alberta SouthWest alliance

Alberta SouthWest Regional Alliance

Celebrating Alberta SouthWest's three Awards of Excellence from Economic Developers Alberta are Fort Macleod Mayor Shawn Patience, who is chairman of Alberta SouthWest, Alberta SouthWest executive director Bev Thornton and Catherine Proulx, managing director of Twist Marketing.

A regional economic alliance that includes the Town of Fort Macleod received three awards from the Economic Developers Association of Alberta.
Alberta SouthWest won awards of excellence for its regional marketing calendar; its innovative man on the street interviews and video; and for use of social media in marketing.
“I’m extremely proud of our organization’s executive director, contract staff and members for the leadership role they played provincially and globally, in promoting the Alberta SouthWest region,” said Fort Macleod Mayor Shawn Patience, who is chairman of Alberta SouthWest Regional Alliance. “I am equally pleased that EDA has acknowledged the outstanding efforts of Alberta SouthWest.
The Economic Developers Association of Alberta its annual Awards of Excellence during the minister’s dinner and awards banquet at the Delta Kananaskis Lodge.
The non-profit association is dedicated to advancing economic development in Alberta by providing an active network of communications, information and education.
“We hope to continue to be at the forefront of regional collaboration with several new and cutting edge initiatives already in the works,” Patience added. “Winning these awards of excellence demonstrates that we are indeed stronger when we work together.”
Twist Marketing, the marketing agency working with Alberta SouthWest, is pleased with the awards recognition.
“Working with a region like Alberta SouthWest and its large stakeholder base challenged us in every way to achieve excellence,” managing director Catherine Proulx said. “At the end of the day we helped them achieve the recognition they deserve for raising the economic development profile of the Alberta SouthWest region.”
Alberta SouthWest represents a total membership population just over 33,000. and covers an area of 16,705 square kilometres.
The Economic Developer of the Year Award was presented to Kent McMullin, from Edmonton Economic Development Corporation.
The President’s Award, which recognizes an individual in the association who has made a significant contribution to the organization, went to executive director Leann Hackman-Carty.

Tags |