Categorized | Sports

Scheidegger tops men’s bonspiel

butch ferguson

Butch Ferguson follows the progress of his rock in the men's bonspiel

Sweepers take a glance at the house as they bring a rock home in the men's bonspiel.Doyle.

A Lethbridge rink emerged Sunday as champion of the annual Fort Macleod Men’s Bonspiel.
Don Sheidegger’s crew edged Bob Rolick’s foursome 7-6 Sunday afternoon to win the A event.
Sheidegger’s rink included third Tim Garrett, second John Wood and lead Ziggy Vogt.
The loss ended Rolick’s bid for a third consecutive championship at the Fort Macleod Men’s Bonspiel.
Twenty-eight rinks took part in the three-day event, which offered a first prize of $500.
“The competition this year was a little higher than it has been in the past few years,” noted Neil Barr of the Fort Macleod Curling Club.
In a showdown of Fort Macleod rinks Sunday afternoon, Doug Sanderson beat Jim Caughlin 10-2 to win the B event.
Sanderson’s rink included third Robert Coutts, second Jack Martin and lead Neil Coutts.
In the C event final, Travis Doyle of Fort Macleod beat Mel Holtman of Pincher Creek 9-2.
Doyle’s rink included third Brady Hester, second Doug Van Hierden and lead Gordon Hester.
League finals
In men’s league play at the Fort Macleod club, Jim Caughlin defeated Bruce Faulkner to win the A event.
The B event winner was Doug Van Hierden.
In mixed league play, Travis Doyle emerged as A event champion while Shane Doyle won the B event.

Comments are closed.