Categorized | Sports

Atom Maverick honoured with Clint Jordan award

clint jordan award

Clint Jordan Award nominees Davey Rabbit, Pee Wee Mavericks; Stanley Morning Bull, Bantam Mavericks; Greg Burrows, Atom Mavericks; Ryan Cook, Midget Mavericks; and Jordy Welsh, Pee Wee Mavericks.

greg burrows

Al Douglas presented the Clint Jordan Award to Atom Maverick Greg Burrows

An Atom Maverick was honoured Wednesday as Fort Macleod Minor Hockey’s player’s player.
Greg Burrows received the 2013 Clint Jordan Memorial Award.
The Clint Jordan Memorial Award recognizes players who lead in the dressing room and on the ice and who stick up for teammates.
Named for a Minor Hockey player who died suddenly, the award honours sportsmanship, hard work, dedication and team play.
“We look for a player who really has a love of the game, plays the game the right way and can be looked up to in the community,” Minor Hockey president Jason Austin said. “We look for hockey not only to provide time for kids to get out but to produce better citizens for us in Fort Macleod.”
The other nominees were Davey Rabbit and Jordy Welsh of the Pee Wee Mavericks; Bantam Stanley Morning Bull and Midget Ryan Cook.
“The Atom nominee is no stranger to the rink,” Atom team manager Shelby Austin said. “The term rink rat in this case is endearing.”
Greg Burrows demonstrates hard work on the ice and the bench.
“Sportsmanship has never been a question,” Shelby Austin added, reading the nomination submitted by coaches. “Our nominee’s strongest trait . . . is his ability to make those players around him better.”
Greg was dedicated to the game, playing through illness and fatigue.
In 19 league games, usually playing against the other team’s best players, Greg did not receive a minor penalty.
“He was also conscious to always find the player with the best chance to score and passed up numerous chances to pad his own numbers, showing that team play was more important than his own achievement.”
The coaches often used Greg Burrows as an example to teammates of how hard they all had to work in order to be successful.
The Midget coaches nominated Ryan Cook, who played 13 years in the Fort Macleod Minor Hockey system.
“He exemplifies what a hockey player should be,” coach Tyce Gallamore said. “He’s skilled on the ice, he’s a leader off the ice. He’s an example to his team and, I believe, the rest of the community.”
The Pee Wee Mavericks nominated Davey Rabbit and Jordy Welsh for the award.
“We had a few really good candidates from our team,” coach Ken Creighton said.
The Pee Wee coaches said both players were hard-working, dedicated and committed to their team.
“He’s just a really good player to coach and have on your team,” Creighton said of Davey Rabbit.
The team also nominated Jordy Welsh as a player who was welcoming to new players to the team and who was a team player.
Jordy came to the bench toward to end of the third period and asked if he could sit off so a couple of teammates who had not had as much ice time could play.
“He’s also one of those rink rats,” Jason Austin noted of Welsh. “It’s a very good term.”
Bantam coach Trevor Curran said it was difficult to pick one player as nominee, since so many fit the criteria.
Stanley Morning Bull, who had near perfect attendance, was as committed to defence as he was to leading the attack from his position on defence.
Stanley had just six penalty minutes in 21 games last season
“The reason for this was not due to lack of effort,” Curran said. “This Bantam Maverick played hard and found a way to walk on the edge of playing tough, rarely putting his team in a shorthanded position.”
Although only one player takes home the award, Jason Austin encouraged all the players to take pride in being nominated.
“You’re all very deserving nominees,” Austin said. “You represent our community very well. I’m very proud of you.”