Categorized | News

Chamber will host election forum

Fort Macleod and district residents can take the measure Wednesday, Oct. 9 of the men and women campaigning for election.
The Fort Macleod Chamber of Commerce will host a municipal election forum at 7 p.m. at the Empress Theatre.
“All we need is a good turn-out,” said Chamber member Emily McTighe, who organized the event.
McTighe provided Chamber members with an update on the event Thursday during the October meeting at the Rural Alberta Business Centre.
Each candidate will be given an opportunity to make an opening statement at the forum.
Then moderator Bruce Young will open the floor to questions.
Invitations to the forum were extended to the candidates for mayor and council in Fort Macleod.
McTighe said not all the candidates have responded to confirm their attendance but she is hopeful she’ll hear from them by Wednesday.
Candidates for council in the Oct. 21 election are Keith Trowbridge, Trish Hoskin, Brent Feyter, Michael Dyck, Werner Dressler, Mike Collar, Ted Buzunis, Mike Bourassa and incumbents Gord Wolstenholme, Donna Houston and Sharan Randle.
Candidates for mayor are incumbent Shawn Patience, Rene Gendre and Susan Koots.
The Chamber also invited the candidates running for MD of Willow Creek council.
Campaigning in Division 2 of the MD of Willow Creek are incumbent Ed Neufeld and challenger John Kroetsch.
Division 3 candidates are incumbent Phil Wakelin and challenger Maryanne Sandberg.
In Division 1, which is also in the Fort Macleod district, incumbent Henry Van Hierden was acclaimed.
The following incumbents were also acclaimed in other parts of the MD of Willow Creek: Glen Alm, Division 4; Earl Hemmaway, Division 5; Neil Wilson, Division 6; and Ian Sundquist, Division 7.
Elections will not be held in any of the wards in Livingstone Range School Division.
Incumbents Martha Ratcliffe, Lori Hodges and Shannon Scherger were acclaimed in Ward 3, which includes Fort Macleod.
Incumbent trustee Clara Yagos and newcomer Bruce Decoux were acclaimed to the two positions in Ward 2.
Newcomers John McKee and Bradley Toone were acclaimed in Ward 1 of Livingstone Range School Division.
The 2013 municipal election is Monday, Oct. 21.

Comments are closed.