Categorized | Sports

Senior Flyers capture league playoff crown

Flyers volleyball team

The champion Flyers, back row, from left: assistant coach Shane Cleaver, Shody Perry, Oakley Bond, Ty Odney, Brett Burrows, Duncan Smith, Justin Atwood, Marcus Plourde, Aidan Kidd, Roland Tomter, Conlan Donahue and coach Craig Patton. Front: Trent Ducharme, Landon Koch, Avery Van Driesten and Ryland Clarke.

F.P. Walshe Flyers have their sights set on a berth in the provincial championship, after taking care of business in the Westwind Volleyball League.
The Flyers are ranked No. 2 going into the six-team zone playoff tournament Wednesday at Immanuel Christian school in Lethbridge.
In order to earn a trip to the provincials at Edmonton the Flyers have to make it to the final of Wednesday’s tournament.
The south zone gets to send the champion and a wild card entry to the provincial finals.
Immanuel Christian Eagles are ranked No. 1 heading into the zone playoff, and will be joined in a pool by No. 3 Picture Butte Kings and No. 5 County Central Hawks from Vulcan.
The Flyers are in the other pool with No. 4 Crowsnest Pass Panthers and No. 6 Willow Creek Composite Cobras from Claresholm.
The Flyers open the tournament against Willow Creek and then take on Crowsnest Pass.
The first order of business for the Flyers, though, was winning the Westwinds post-season tournament at Claresholm.
The Flyers went into the tournament having placed second during the regular season to get a bye into the semifinals.
Nobleford Blades had advanced to the semifinals by defeating Willow Creek Composite in three straight sets.
The Flyers took control by beating the Blades 25-17 and 25-19 in the first two sets of the semifinal match.
Nobleford battled back, winning the third set 25-21 to extend the match.
F.P. Walshe settled the match with a 25-15 win in the fourth set to advance to the final against Crowsnest Pass Panthers.
The Panthers reached the finals by knocking off Immanuel Christian in the other semifinal match.
The Eagles senior team, which placed first in regular season, was committed to a tournament in Calgary so the junior varsity Eagles played in their stead.
F.P. Walshe needed just three sets to claim the championship, beating the Panthers 25-19, 25-19 and 25-18.
Flyers Duncan Smith and Justin Atwood were named to the Westwinds all-star team.
Blake Hamilton and Aidan Kidd were the league nominees for the dream team.
Grade 12 Flyers are Brett Burrows, Marcus Plourde, Justin Atwood and Duncan Smith.
Grade 11 Flyers are Blake Hamilton, Trent Ducharme, Landon Koch, Conlan Donahue, Aidan Kidd, Avery Van Driesten and Roland Tomter.
Grade 10 Flyers are Ty Odney, Shody Perry, Oakley Bond and Rylan Clarke.
Head coach is Craig Patton and assistant coaches are Shane Cleaver, John Woynarowsky and Brayden Van Driesten.