Categorized | Sports

F.P. Walshe Flyers alumni battle for basketball bragging rights

jordan gunderson

Jordan Gunderson battles Andy Orr for possession of the ball.

orr and baxter

Mike Orr soars to the basket with Chris Baxter (right) defending.

tim whitehead

Tim Whitehead goes up for a shot with Matt Burbank defending.

Bragging rights have been determined for another year among F.P. Walshe school alumni.
Team Ott beat Team Bullock 54-47 on Dec. 28 to win the annual alumni basketball tournament.
Team Ott built a 35-22 halftime lead, but Team Bullock battled back in the second half to close the gap to six points with just over three minutes to play.
That was as close as they would come as Team Ott prevailed 54-47.
Tim Whitehead led Team Ott with 14 points.
Jordan Poytress had eight points for Team Ott, Jeff Viens and Mark Smallbones each had six and Broc Higginson had five.
Mike Derricott, Taylor Wolstenholme and Mike Orr each had four points for Team Ott and Mark Weir had three.
Leroy Crazy Boy and Darren Orr were the other members of Team Ott.
Matt Bullock of Team Bullock led all scorers in the final with 21 points.
Matt Burbank had seven points, Jessen Little Mustache had six, Jeff Perry had five, Taylor Atwood had four and Wes Gurney and Andy Orr each had two.
In the Prairie Pride game to determine third and fourth place, Mo Gunderson’s team beat big brother Toad Gunderson’s squad 74-44.
Mo Gunderson led all scorers with 28 points in the Prairie Pride match, with Jordan Gunderson scoring 13 and Tanner Clarke scoring 12.
Jason Jessen had nine points for the winners, Aaron Poytress had seven and Rick Bullock had six. Colton Vallieres had two.
Dusty Burbank, Jared Poytress and Randy Gunderson rounded out the lineup.
Andrew Orr and Logan Gregory each had nine points and Toad Gunderson had seven.
Chris Baxter scored five points, Cody Van Driesten, Brayden Russell and Justin Zoeteman each had four and David Orr had two.
Fer Orr and Clayton Orr rounded out the Team Toad Gunderson lineup.

jordan poytress

Jordan Poytress goes up for a lay-up against Brayden Russell (center) and Andrew Orr (right).

Four teams competed in the two-day tournament that raised money for the Flyers basketball program.
To open the round-robin Team Mo Gunderson beat Team Ott Derricott 61-57. Jordan Gunderson led the winners with 19 points while Broc Higginson had 17 and Tim Whitehead had 13 in a losing cause.
In the next game Mo Gunderson had 21 points and Jason Jessen had 14 in a 58-37 win over Team Toad Gunderson.
Team Ott Derricott then earned its first win with a 52-46 decision over Team Bullock. Tim Whitehead scored 21 for the winners while Matt Burbank had 15 and Wes Gurney had 13 in a losing cause.
In the next game Matt Bullock scored 16 to lead his team to a 58-40 win over Team Toad Gunderson, who were led by Andrew Orr’s dozen points.
Led by 15 points from Tim Whitehead and 12 from Jordan Poytress, Team Ott Derricott knocked off Team Toad Gunderson 63-56. Andrew Orr had 19 points in a losing effort.
In the final round-robin game Team Bullock beat Team Mo Gunderson 65-59. Mo Gunderson had 24 points to lead all scorers while Wes Gurney had 17 and Matt Bullock had 14.

Comments are closed.