Categorized | Sports

Basketball alumni return to F.P. Walshe

Former F.P. Walshe school athletes return to the hard court later this month for the annual alumni basketball tournament.
The tournament runs Friday and Saturday, Dec. 28-29 at F.P. Walshe school.
The tournament features a pulled pork lunch on Dec. 29 from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m., a 50-50 draw and a fan shooting competition.
There is no admission fee.
Enough players to fill four men’s teams and three women’s teams have signed up to date.
To register, contact Mo Gunderson at 403-894-4124.
The tournament tips off at 6 p.m. Dec. 28 with men’s Team 1 taking on men’s Team 2, followed by the women’s Team 1 playing Team 2 at 7:30 p.m. and men’s Team 3 taking on men’s Team 4 at 9 p.m.
Action resumes at 9 a.m. Dec. 29 with the women’s Team 1 taking on F.P. Walshe Flyers, followed at 10:30 a.m. by men’s Team 2 against men’s Team 3, at 12 noon with men’s Team 1 playing men’s Team 4 and at 1:30 p.m. with women’s Team 2 playing the F.P. Walshe Flyers.
The semifinal games are at 3 p.m. and 4:30 p.m. Dec. 29, with the championship at 6 p.m.
Following are the rosters:
Team 1 — Captain Anthony Burdett, Wes Gurney, Zac D’eon, Matt Smith, Andy Orr, Alec Hart, Cody Cain, Matt Bullock and Logan Gregory.
The average age of players on Team 1 is 28.5 years.
Team 2 — Captain Matt Burbank, Darian Atwood, Justin Zoeteman, Andrew Orr, Jordan Poytress, Jared Steed, Michael McTighe, Travis Van Driesten and Rick Bullock.
The average age of players on Team 2 is 31.4 years.
Team 3 — Captain Mike Derricott, Aiden Kidd, Brad Orr, Travis Lybbert, Jason Jessen, Jordan Gunderson, Jeff Veins, Mark Smallbones and Nathan Orr.
The average age of players on Team 3 is 33.6 years.
Team 4 — Captain Thomas Gunderson, Ben Duce, Aaron Poytress, Mark Perry, Mike Orr, Hutch Orr, Dave Orr, Stu Poettcker, Jason Ronald and Mo Gunderson.
The average age of players on Team 4 is 36.3 years.
Women Team 1 — Jessica Gunderson, Bella Gunderson, Jade Gunderson, Ruby McRae, Brittany Orr, Rachelle Orr, Jane O’Connor, Jamie Bruised Head, Cheyenne Hofer and Katie Bullock.
Women Team 2 — Samantha Bassett, Sydney Plourde, Rebecca Lybbert, Lindsay Hodgeson, Maren Orr, Kirsten Burdett, Kim Steed, Carrie Card and Char-lane Gunderson.
Women Team 3 — F.P. Walshe senior Flyers.

Comments are closed.

Subscribe Online


People in Fort Macleod and district who have symptoms and think they may have COVID-19 should call Health Link at 811. If their symptoms match the criteria, Health Link will advise on their next steps regarding testing.

Most recent updates below.

  • There are 358 confirmed cases of COVID-19 in Alberta, including one in Claresholm.
  • Since yesterday, 31 new cases of COVID-19 have been confirmed in Alberta, bringing the total to 226. Sixteen cases are suspected to be as a result of community transmission. The rest are travel-related.
  • Canada and the United States have an agreement that will restrict non-essential travel across the border, including for tourism and recreation. Canadian and American citizens and permanent residents who are currently visiting each other's country can still return home.
  • Forty-nine new cases of COVID-19 have been reported in Alberta, bringing the total Friday afternoon to 195. On a positive note, three people who contracted the virus have been identified as recovered.
  • Fort Macleod Fish and Game has cancelled its awards banquet set for Saturday, March 28.
  • The Empress Theatre in Fort Macleod is closed.
Our full list on this page
book ad

Photo Albums – what’s new

Fort Macleod Skating Club held its annual achievement night on Dec. 18