Categorized | News

Dorothy Asuchak nominated for provincial award

Dorothy Asuchak receives her Minister’s Seniors Service Award nominee certificate from Community and Social Services Minister Irfan Sabir.

A Fort Macleod woman is among 29 Alberta volunteers recognized last week for service to seniors
Dorothy Asuchak was nominated for the 2018 Minister’s Seniors Service Awards.
The Minister’s Seniors Service Awards honour Albertans who improve the lives of seniors through their volunteer service.
“I have seen first-hand the value volunteers bring to the seniors who built our province,” said Irfan Sabir, acting minister of seniors and housing in Alberta. “They help create caring and inclusive communities for those who need it the most.”
“I am honoured to personally recognize these volunteers for their work.”
Dorothy Asuchak of Fort Mcleod has been a dedicated volunteer for 19 years.
She has served 11 years as a member of the Fort Macleod District Health Foundation and as a president and vice-president of the Fort Macleod Health Care Auxiliary Association.
“Dorothy is a treasure,” health foundation chair Denise Joel said. “She is the volunteer who gets the job done, even the jobs that we didn’t know needed to get done.”
“I have always been amazed by her energy and her willingness to give her time and talents,” Joel added. “She is truly deserving of this award.”
Dorothy Asuchak also serves her community through her work to initiate and oversee the Vial for Life program, delivering meals on wheels, driving seniors to appointments, planning and baking for events, visiting seniors, and helping with gardens.
This year, 29 individuals and 10 organizations are nominated from communities throughout Alberta.
Other nominees are Stella Bott and Margaret Roskewich of Calmar; Phyllis Bradford, Doreen Chapman, Bill Chrapko, Sardara Singh Dhillon, Kanwarjit Singh Grewal and Anne Windsor of Edmonton; Kit Bright, Kalam Chan, June Crowe, Gerrit and Elma de Leeuw, Kulbir Singh Kalkat, Peter Khu, Viginar Lui, Pauline Mathezer, Mohan Singh Sidhu and Jim Swift of Calgary; Delores Dercach and Joyce Wicks of Sundre; John Godsman of Strathmore; Delphine Hayes of Smith; Diane Hodgson of Alberta Beach; Darlene Johnson-Brown of Okotoks; Waqar Manzoor of Chestermere; Della Robertson of Cochrane; Henry Wawrzonek of Guy; and Bill Wullf of Drumheller.
An additional 11 nominees will be recognized for the Alice Modin Award.
Thirty years ago, Modin campaigned to launch a seniors day in Strathcona County that paved the way for a province-wide Seniors’ Week.
The Alice Modin Award was created in her name to honour a senior who has contributed long-term service to their community.

Comments are closed.