Categorized | Sports

Junior B Flyers win league, playoff titles

The champion F.P. Walshe Flyers, back row, from left: coach Ashley Luther, Nate Keller, Ryan Burrows, Jon Pineda, Zach Grant, Brody Day Chief and coach Amy Sandham. Front row, from left: Dylan Feyter, Dwayne Mano, Jarred Gurney and Logan Van Herk.

F.P. Walshe Flyers rallied from a two-oint deficit Friday to tame St. Mike’s Dragons and win the junior high B boys playoff title.
The Flyers, who hosted the tournament at W.A. Day school, also finished first in regular season play.
The Flyers, Dragons, Tatsikiisaapo’p middle school (TMS) and Crowsnest Pass Panthers took part in the tournament held Friday in Fort Macleod.
In their first match of the day, the Flyers were pushed to the limit by Crowsnest Pass Panthers.
In the first set of that semifinal match the Panthers edged the Flyers 25-23.
The Fort Macleod team rallied to win the second set 25-19 to force a tiebreaker.
In the tiebreaker the Flyers caged the Panthers 15-11 to advance to the tournament championship later in the day.
St. Mike’s defeated TMS from the Blood reserve in their first match of the tournament to earn a berth in the championship match.
St. Mike’s won the first set 25-22 in a hard-fought battle and then advanced to the final with a win in the second set.
In the first set of the championship match, the Flyers rolled to a 25-18 win, leaving them one victory away from the playoff title.
The Flyers and Dragons staged a knock down, drag ’em out battle in the second set with St. Mike’s holding the lead late in the contest.
Ryan Burrows took serve and made five consecutive points as the Flyers rallied to edge the Dragons 26-24 to win the championship.
In the game to decide third place, TMS swept Crowsnest Pass Panthers in two sets.
TMS won the first set 25-16 and finished off the Panthers with a 25-18 win in the second set.
The Flyers are Jarred Gurney, Zac Grant, Ryan Burrows, Brody Day Chief, Jon Pineda, Dwayne Mano, Dylan Feyter, Logan Van Herk and Nate Keller.

Comments are closed.