Categorized | Sports

Outlaws ride off with slowpitch championship

Sunsapitches shortstop Ben Paskal fields a grounder.

Outlaws shortstop Loren Feyter fields a ground ball.

The champion Outlaws, back row, from left: Jake Roelofsen, Henry Roelofsen, Eric Arnoldussen, Loren Feyter, Ty Odney, David Van Hierden and Rick Arnoldussen. Front row, from left: Erin Bourke-Henderson, Lisa Bredeweg, Lauren Roelofsen and Tara De Kok.

Ty Odney’s walk-off home run in the bottom of the seventh inning Saturday lifted the Outlaws to the Fort Macleod Coed Slowpitch League playoff championship.
The Outlaws went into their last bats trailing by one run but Odney’s grand slam with two out allowed them to defend their championship with a 25-23 win over the Sunsapitches.
Six teams set out Friday night on the quest for the playoff tournament championship.
The Outlaws went undefeated during the regular season and continued their winning ways in the playoffs, winning twice to reach the championship.
The Sunsapitches had a longer journey to the final as they lost an early game and had to fight back from the B side in the double elimination tournament.
The semifinal match between the Sunsapitches and Foul Balls was an epic battle that saw the score change hands several times.
The Sunsapitches prevailed to advance to meet the Outlaws, who needed one win to complete an undefeated season and win the playoff title.
It looked as though the Outlaws would realize their dream season as they led the Sunsapitches 15-12 going into the bottom of the seventh inning.
But a clutch three-run homer by Steven Vandervalk of the Sunsapitches tied the game 15-15.
With two out Jason Jessen doubled and then scored when Cole Archibald smashed a line drive to give the Sunsapitches a 16-15 win, and new life.
The Sunsapitches win forced a deciding game, which the Outlaws opened by taking a 5-3 lead in the first inning.
The teams were tied 12-12 after three innings but the Sunsapitches pulled out in front 18-17 in the fourth.
The Outlaws tied it in the fifth only to have the Sunsapitches regain the lead 23-21 after six innings.
The Outlaws held the Sunsapitches scoreless in the top of the seventh and entered the bottom of the inning needing two runs to tie and three to win.
Jake Roelofsen, Rick Arnoldussen and Erin Bourke-Henderson loaded the bases in the bottom of the seventh to set the stage for Odney, and the former Fort Macleod Royal came through with a blast that gave his team a 25-23 win, and the playoff title.

Tags |

Comments are closed.