Categorized | News, Sports

Fort Macleod Curling Club honours member Judy Walde

Fort Macleod Curling Club president Bruce Robertson presented a life membership to long-time member Judy Walde on Friday.

Judy Walde was moved to tears Friday night at the Fort Macleod Curling Club.
Walde, a long-time club member, received a life membership from president Bruce Robertson.
“It’s obvious members are very important to the club,” Robertson said. “Without members we wouldn’t have a club.”
“But occasionally, a member stands out for their service and participation in all areas of the club.”
The award presentation took place during the club’s annual general meeting in the lounge.
Robertson cited Walde’s contributions to the executive, club projects, bonspiel planning and committees.
“At times like this when a person does stand out, the club likes to recognize their service and dedication to the club,” Robertson said.
Club members rose to give Walde a standing ovation when Robertson presented the award.
A tearful Walde thanked club members for the honour.
“We all love the club,” Walde said. “There’s lots of members here who are fully qualified to deserve it.”
Walde said she enjoys working with the young people in the junior program and being involved in club activities.
The Fort Macleod Curling Club also held its annual general meeting on Friday prior to the awards and dinner.
Robertson reflected on the past season at the Fort Macleod club, starting with the juniors, ladies, men’s and Farmers and Friends bonspiels.
“The comments I heard were that they were all great bonspiels and everybody had a wonderful time,” Robertson said. “They like coming to our rink, and they will come back again.”
Robertson thanked the club’s executive, directors, ice-makers, draw masters and other volunteers.
“We had a great year,” Robertson said.
Robertson praised members for their willingness to get involved and support bonspiels, leagues and programs.
That’s what makes this a great club,” Robertson said.
Judy Walde chaired the election, which resulted in the following board: president, Bruce Robertson; vice-president, Bob Ripley; secretary, Mary Ann Doyle; treasurer, Amanda Van Hierden; and directors Travis Doyle, Don McLean, Mel Jones, John Melvin, Robert Coutts, Donna Taylor, Brendan Grant and Sandra Hoglund.
The curling club’s league winners were also recognized.
The mixed league A division winners were the Doug Van Hierden team composed of Amanda Van Hierden, Brendan Grant and Lindsay Grant.
The mixed league B division winners were the Donna Taylor rink composed of Ann Barnes, Dianna Wakelin nd Fern Gore.
The men’s league B playoff event winners were the Dale Holtz team composed of Blaine Holtz, Albert Poelman and Lane Lyke.
The men’s league A event playoff winners were the Travis Doyle rink composed of Brady Hester, Harley Brown and Mike Collar.

Subscribe Online Current Edition

Explore Spectacular Southwest Alberta (PDF)

2021 Explore Southwest Alberta magazine cover