Categorized | News

Livingstone Range celebrates student art

Livingstone Range School Board put the spotlight on student art last week at an annual gala celebration.
The annual Emerging Artists Gala was held Oct. 29 at the G.R. Davis Administration Building in Fort Macleod.
“We love being able to host this to celebrate the kids in our division,” school board chair Lori Hodges said.
Students submit work and a panel of judges selects the art that will be framed and displayed at the G.R. Davis Administration Building.
Students were called forward at the gala to be recognized and to receive a cheque for their prize.
Most of the students’ work is for sale.
“Art helps improves students’ memory and concentration, develop decision-making and critical thinking, and enhances communication and listening skills,” school board vice-chair Lacey Poytress said. “It also encourages focus and discipline.”
Art also improves students’ self-esteem and social skills, and teaches them to take risks, Poytress added.
“This is something that is very important,” Poytress said. “All kids excel in different ways and we want to make sure that the kids who excel in art are recognized as well.”
The work of the following students was chosen for display:
W.A. Day school — Joe Boot, Hudson Bare Shin Bones and Raegan Gurney.
F.P. Walshe school — Josie Van Herk, Izzy Hurd, Zachary Grant, Lance Felicen, Lalaine Mendoza, Zofia Bumactao, Lydia Orr, Megan Aebli, Rojan Mano, Brandon Reyes, Harlee Grier and the school’s art students.
Stavely school — Shelby Slevin, Isabella Bostock and Noah Scott.
West Meadow school — Kaydie Detmers and Addison Langard,
Willow Creek Composite — Megan Slot, Ruth Fernandez and Adion Vandenberg.
Canyon school — Emily Edwards, Cyrus Spear Chief and Gus Hengerer.
Matthew Halton school — Shaylena Tienkamp, Marlene Sharp Adze, Helena Bruder, Brooke Hammond, Erica Mackenzie and the high school art collaboration.
Livingstone school — Neko Harriot, Ira Davidson, Breanna Clifton, Madison Grandoni, Natalee Smyth, Finbar Wood, Layla Cannon, Quynien Darragh, Devon Reeve, Austin Hartgerink, Kate Wadstein, Nadine Smyth, Ryan Smyth, Jerika Stannard, Frankie Love, Libby Attaway and Larissa Dennis.
Horace Allen school — Johnny Hawkins, Jasper Smith and Nate Lach.
Isabelle Sellon school — Bryar Cytco, Kaleigh Fox, Jaiden Lebsack, Morgan Samuel, Kataly Forget, Shayla Duff, Morgan Duff, Miles Atkinson and Ella McNeil.
Crowsnest Consolidated — Katie Mills, Ben Arbuckle, Alexandra Topolinsky, Tressa Murray, Kasey Walters, Dahlia Poch, Jorja Mercer-Penney and Meghan Tarcon.
Clear Lake Colony school — Jeremy Hofer and Robert Hofer.
Jumbo Valley Colony school — Jaxson Tschetter and Seth Hofer.
Livingstone Colony school — Trina Walter.
Pincher Creek Colony school — Gabriel Gross, Amanda Gross and Brooklyn Gross.
Spring Point Colony school — Seth Walter, Jesiah Walter and Jeremy Walter.
Thompson Colony school — Brandan Tschetter.

Comments are closed.