Categorized | News

Livingstone Range presents scholarships

A Pincher Creek Grade 12 student is the recipient of a $2,000 Livingstone Range School Division scholarship for leadership.

Zelwyn Hugo
Zelwyn Hugo

Zach Renschler of Matthew Halton high school was announced last week as recipient of the Lloyd Cavers scholarship.

The scholarship was one of four awards announced by the school board during its June 15 meeting by video-conference.

“This is one of my favourite events of the school year,” said superintendent Darryl Seguin, who serves on the committee that reviews recommendations from the school administrators.

“We have amazing students in our jurisdiction and I’m so glad we have these awards that recognize them.”

School board chair Lori Hodges echoed Seguin’s comments.

“This is one of my favourite committees,” Hodges said. “I love when we can sit down and read the submissions just to see how many great kids we have out there in Livingstone Range. It’s always a very difficult decision when you have to pick one overall winner.”

Following are the other nominees for the Lloyd Cavers scholarship:

• F.P. Walshe school in Fort Macleod, Zelwyn Hugo.

• J.T Foster school in Nanton, Naomi Jersch.

• Willow Creek Composite high school, Claresholm — Daniel Schuepbach.

• Livingstone school in Lundbreck, Jeff Halibert.

• Crowsnest Pass Consolidated high school, Aiden Douglas.

Each nominee received a $200 award.

“I want to congratulate all the nominees,” Toone said. “They do an amazing job.”

Maron Lim of Crowsnest Pass Consolidated high school received the $1,000 Enmax scholarship.

The Honouring Spirit Award nominees were Tess Provost and Kristina LaCerte, both from F.P. Walshe school in Fort Macleod.

The $2,000 Livingstone Macleod Bursary went to Jace Lewis from Crowsnest Pass Consolidated high school.

“It’s a moving group of students as always. We appreciate all the work they have done, and staff who have taken the time to help mentor and nominate them.”

Comments are closed.