Categorized | News

Fort Macleod elects mostly veteran council

Brent Feyter

With incumbent mayor Brent Feyter already in by acclamation, Fort Macleod voted for continuity by returning five councillors and adding one new one.

Unofficial results from Monday’s election put Jim Monteith in front with 581 votes, followed by Werner Dressler with 511, Kristi Edwards with 499, Gordon Wolstenholme with 486, Mackenzie Hengerer with 484 and Marco Van Huigenbos with 446.

Nigel Edmunds, who like Hengerer was a first-time candidate, received 298 votes and was not elected.

David Orr was the only incumbent councillor not seeking re-election.

In the MD of Willow Creek Division 2 race, incumbent John Kroetsch was re-elected with 191 votes, Allan Minor had 141 votes and Darryl Campbell had 33.

In Division 4, incumbent Glen Alm got 124 votes to edge Grant alm, who received 113.

In Division 5, Earl Hemmaway won with 101 votes to incumbent Darry Markle’s 92

Acclaimed in the four other divisions were incumbents John Van Driesten, Maryanne Sandberg, Evan Berger and Ian Sundquist.

Voters also chose continuity in Ward 3 of Livingstone Range School Division, re-electing incumbent trustees Lori Hodges with 1,333 votes and Lacey Poytress with 1,145. Challenger Purdy Martodihardjo got 425 votes.

Comments are closed.

Subscribe Online

Explore Spectacular Southwest Alberta (PDF)

2021 Explore Southwest Alberta magazine cover