Categorized | News

New Fort Macleod council installed in office

town council
Sgt. Bryan Mucha of the Fort Macleod RCMP detachment led new Fort Macleod council members in the oath of office on Oct. 25. From left: Coun. Gord Wolstenholme, Coun. Jim Monteith, Coun. Marco Van Huigenbos, Mayor Brent Feyter, Sgt. Bryan Mucha, Coun. Werner Dressler, Coun, Kristi Edwards and Coun. Mackenzie Hengerer.

Fort Macleod’s newly-elected council was installed last week during its organizational meeting.

Mayor Brent Feyter and councillors Werner Dressler, Kristi Edwards, Mackenzie Hengerer, Jim Monteith, Marco Van Huigenbos and Gord Wolsternholme attended their first meeting as a council on Oct. 25.

“Congratulations to all of our council,” interim chief administrative officer Liisa Gillingham said. “And thank you to all of our residents who voted in the election.”

“We are pleased to have seven wonderful people representing our residents.”

Sgt. Bryan Mucha of the Fort Macleod RCMP, dressed in traditional red serge, led each council member in the oath of office.

The new council, which was elected Oct. 18, will serve a four-year term that expires in October 2025.

“We want to congratulate everyone on standing up and being there to represent your community,” Feyter said. “We look forward to working with all of you to continue making Fort Macleod a great place to live, work and raise a family.”

The next order of business was signing of the council and CAO covenants.

Deputy mayor schedule

Each of the six councillors will serve as deputy mayor during the four-year term. Council approved the following schedule:

  • Werner Dressler, November 2021 to June 2022.
  • Jim Monteith, July 2022 to February 2023.
  • Marco Van Huigenbos, March to October 2023.
  • Gord Wolstenholme, November 2023 to June 2024.
  • Mackenzie Hengerer, July 2024 to February 2025.
  • Kristi Edwards, March to October 2025.

Finance committee

Every member of council will serve on a new finance committee that will meet at 12 noon on the first Wednesday of every month.

Technology training

Council members will get training on a new system to digitize the town’s record management.

Training sessions will be held on Nov. 4-5.

Council meetings

Council agreed to continue the tradition of holding regular meetings on the second and fourth Mondays of each month.

The exceptions are when the meetings move to Tuesday if Monday is a holiday.

Only one meeting is scheduled for December, July and August.

Meeting dates approved last week are Nov. 8, Nov. 22, Dec. 13, Jan. 10, Jan. 24, Feb. 14, Feb. 28, March 14, March 28, April 11, April 25, May 9, May 24, June 13, June 27, July 11, Aug. 22, Sept. 12, Sept. 26. Oct. 11 and Oct. 24.

Council appointments

Council approved appointments to the following boards, commissions and committees for 2021-’22:

  • Alberta Police Interim Advisory Board — Dressler.
  • Agricultural Society — Van Huigenbos.
  • Alberta Southwest Regional Alliance — Feyter.
  • Built Heritage Advisory Board — Van Huigenbos and Dressler with Feyter as alternate.
  • Chamber of Commerce — Feyter.
  • Chinook Arch Regional Library System — Monteith with Edwards as alternate.
  • Crime Prevention Advisory Committee — Dressler.
  • Cultural Heritage Tourism Alliance — Hengerer.
  • Diversity and Inclusion Committee — Edwards.
  • Empress Theatre Society — Edwards.
  • Environment Committee — Dressler with Hengerer as alternate.
  • Family and Community Support Services (FCSS) — Edwards.
  • Fort Macleod Library Board — Edwards.
  • Fort Macleod Historical Association — Feyter with Dressler as alternate.
  • Fort Macleod Interagency Board — Monteith.
  • Chinook Intermunicipal Subdivision and Development Appeal Board — Wolstenholme.
  • Highway 3 Economic Development Committee — Feyter.
  • Fort Macleod Housing Committee — Monteith and Van Huigenbos.
  • Mayors and Reeves Committee — Feyter.
  • Municipal Planning Commission — Van Huigenbos and Dressler, with Feyter as alternate.
  • Oldman River Regional Services Commission — Wolstenholme with Feyter as alternate.
  • Regional Assessment Review Board — Wolstenholme.
  • Regional Waste Management Facility Authority — Wolstenholme with Dressler as alternate.
  • Willow Creek Foundation — Wolstenholme and Monteith.