Categorized | News

School board elects Lacey Poytress as chair

Livingstone Range School Board has a new chairperson to start the new term.

Lacey Poytress
Lacey Poytress

Trustees elected Lacey Poytress as chair and Greg Long as vice-chair during the Oct. 26 organizational meeting at the G.R. Davis Administration Building in Fort Macleod.

Poytress, Long, Lori Hodges, Brad Toone, Clara Yagos, Carla Gimber and Joscelyn Stangowitz form the new school board.

“It’s really exciting to us to see a board that is very diverse, that represents most of our school communities,” superintendent Darryl Seguin said.

Associate superintendent of business services Jeff Perry led the seven trustees through the oath of office.

Perry reminded trustees of the school division’s vision of “Every student, every day.”

Perry also spoke of the division’s mission to inspire excellence through meaningful relationships, innovation and collaboration.

“We are excited to see how each of you can and will contribute to that mission and vision,” Perry said.

Seguin told trustees they will deal with important issues, including the pandemic, budget and the province’s new curriculum.

“This is probably one of the most important times to serve as a trustee,” Seguin said.

One of the first orders of business for the new board was electing a chair.

In a secret ballot, Poytress defeated former chair Lori Hodges.

Poytress said her first term on the school board provided an opportunity to learn and grow into the role of trustee.

That growth was fostered through professional development, committee work, board conflict resolution and as vice-chair.

“I understand that the role of chair is equal to that of all trustees, and with the additional responsibility of managing the work of the board,” Poytress said.

Poytress promised to dedicate herself to the role of chair, to provide leadership and communicate effectively.

In another secret ballot, Long was elected vice-chair over Yagos and Toone.

Long said while serving as vice-chair is often good training to become chair, he does not have those aspirations.

Long said he sees his job as providing support and counsel to the chair.

“I have the experience, I definitely have the knowledge and I have the skills to be a good right-hand person for the chair,” Long said.


Trustees approved appointments to the following standing committees, boards and councils:

  • Superintendent evaluation committee — All trustees.
  • Board Self-Evaluation Committee — All trustees.
  • Planning Committee — All trustees.
  • First Nation, Metis, Inuit and LRSD Liaison Committee — All trustees.
  • Regional school council — Stangowitz as chair and Gimber as vice-chair.
  • Livingstone Leaders — Poytress as primary facilitator and Toone as vice-facilitator.
  • Labour relations committee — Long as chair and Stangowitz and Yagos as members.
  • Audit committee — Hodges as chair and Gimber and Poytress as members.
  • Appeals committee — Gimber as chair and Poytress and Toone as members.
  • Discipline committee — Gimber as chair and Poytress and Toone as members.
  • Awards and recognition committee — Hodges as chair and Poytress as member.
  • Professional learning committee — Yagos as chair and Stangowitz as member.
  • Policy review committee — Yagos as chair and Hodges and Stangowitz as members.
  • ATA Executive-LRSD Liaison committee — Yagos as chair and Stangowitz as member.
  • Advocacy committee — Hodges as chair and Toone as member.
  • Emergency response committee — Hodges as chair and Yagos as member.
  • Alberta School Boards Association Zone 6 representative — Hodges, with Gimber as alternate.
  • LRSD wisdom and guidance council — Gimber, with Poytress as alternate.

School assignments

  • Trustees approved the school assignments as follows:
  • Joscelyn Stangowitz — A.B. Daley school and J.T. Foster high school.
  • Carla Gimber — Stavely school and West Meadow school.
  • Brad Toone — Willow Creek Composite high school and Granum school.
  • Clara Yagos — Livingstone school and Isabelle Sellon school.
  • Greg Long — Horace Allen school and Crowsnest Consolidated high school.
  • Lori Hodges —W.A. Day school and Matthew Halton high school.
  • Lacey Poytress — Canyon school and F.P. Walshe school.

Meeting dates

Regular board meetings will begin at 9 a.m. on Nov. 18, Nov. 30, Dec. 14, Jan. 18, Feb. 14, March 15, April 26, May 17, and June 21.

Committee of the whole meetings start at 9 a.m. on Nov. 23, 1 p.m. Dec. 14, and 9 a.m. Jan. 11, Feb. 8, March 29, April 12, May 24 and June 14.

Comments are closed.

Subscribe Online

Explore Spectacular Southwest Alberta (PDF)

2021 Explore Southwest Alberta magazine cover