Categorized | News

Livingstone Range presents leadership scholarships

A Grade 12 student from Livingstone school in Lundbreck received the 2022 Dr. Lloyd Cavers Scholarship.

Ronan Gelber received the $1,000 scholarship presented to the top high school leader in Livingstone Range School Division.

The award was presented June 14 following a dinner at the G.R. Davis Administration Building in Fort Macleod.

The scholarship is presented to a Grade 12 student whose leadership has a positive impact in the school and community.

“I could probably talk all night about how great Ronan is,” Livingstone school principal Sarah Holmgren said with a laugh. “There is not a more deserving student at our school.”

A unanimous choice by staff as the school’s nominee, Ronan excels in academics, citizenship and athletics at Livingstone school.

“He’s so modest,” Holmgren added. “If you were talking to him you would never know that he is at the top of his class and one of our top athletes.”

In addition to being team captain in basketball and volleyball, Ronan participated in cross-country, track and field and swimming and coaches the West Castle ski team.

Ronan is a talented musician, was part of the school’s leadership team and was a FACES group leader.

“The thing that sets him apart from other leaders is Ronan’s ability to inspire others around him to be the best they can be,” Holmgren said.

Holmgren said Ronan exhibits compassion, integrity, a positive attitude and grit.

“Simply put, I think that Ronan is just a model human and he is somebody we could all learn from” Holmgren said.

The other nominees who received $200 scholarships, included:

  • Kasey Walters of Crowsnest Consolidated high school.
  • Dalton Bonertz of Matthew Halton school in Pincher Creek.
  • Lydia Nelson of F.P. Walshe school in Fort Macleod.
  • Logan Read of Willow Creek Composite high school in Claresholm.
  • Kora Todd of J.T. Foster school in Nanton.

“It’s just wonderful to see the kind of leadership that is going on in the district,” Lloyd Cavers said.

Cavers reflected on the number of nominees and recipients of the award over the past 22 years since the scholarship was established in the name of the former superintendent.

“The purpose of it was to acknowledge and celebrate some of the marvellous student leadership that was going on in the school and the community,” Cavers said.

Cavers said it is always impressive and humbling to hear of the students’ accomplishments.

Enmax scholarship

In other awards, F.P. Walshe school Grade 12 student Rilee Huseby received the $1,000 Enmax Environmental Scholarship.

Three awards are presented to students in Livingstone Range, Westwinds and Horizon school divisions who have demonstrated outstanding environmental leadership and citizenship.

“Rilee is a quiet leader with an amazing work ethic and outstanding character,” principal Chad Jensen said. “I’m really proud of her for how she has grown the past two years.”

Rilee plans to attend Lakeland College for the wildlife, fisheries and conservation program.

Indigenous Student Award

Isabel Litchfield, Carson Smith and Trinity Nicholas received the Alberta School Boards Association Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Award.

Livingstone Range School Board chair Lacey Poytress said the award recognizes First Nations, Metis and Inuit students who model strength and commitment in the pursuit of their personal education paths and embrace their own gifts, strengths and potential while celebrating the ways of their people.

“These awards provide the opportunity to celebrate the unique qualities of students who inspire their peers, teachers, education leaders and community members while respecting the agency of other students to do the same in their own ways,” Poytress said.

Isabel attends Matthew Halton school in Pincher Creek and Carson and Trinity attend F.P. Walshe school.