Categorized | News

Livingstone Range chooses award nominee

F.P. Walshe school teacher Michael McTighe is Livingstone Range School Division’s nominee for the 2024 Alberta School Boards Association’s Edwin Parr Teacher Award.

The award honours outstanding first-year teachers in Alberta, and according to F.P. Walshe Principal Chad Jensen, McTighe’s nomination is well-deserved.

“Michael has been an outstanding addition to our team at F.P. Walshe school and is well on his way to a successful teaching career,” Jensen said. “He makes every effort he can — through coaching, volunteering and showing a genuine interest in what his students are up to — towards building connections in their everyday lives.”

“He has a passion for helping others reach their goals.”

McTighe was raised in Fort Macleod and attended W.A. Day, G.R. Davis and F.P. Walshe schools.

McTighe gained experience working with young people as a drama camp instructor and co-ordinator at the Empress Theatre in Fort Macleod.

In addition, McTighe worked as an instructor in the Destination Explorcation program at the University of Lethbridge.

The program runs a summer camp for children as well as an outreach program that delivers STEM (Science, Technology, Education and Math) education to young people through fun, interactive projects.

McTighe attended the University of Lethbridge and graduated in 2023 with a Bachelor of Science in Kinesiology and a Bachelor of Education in Physical Education with a Social Studies minor.

While attending university, McTighe worked as an uncertified substitute teacher for Livingstone Range and took a short-term contract at F.P. Walshe following university graduation.

At present, McTighe teaches Grade 7 Language Arts, Social Studies, and Physical Education.

“I chose a career in education to have a positive impact on my students’ lives,” McTighe said.

In addition to his teaching duties, McTighe coached both the A and B junior high girls volleyball teams at F.P. Walshe.

During the basketball season, McTighe enlisted friends from high school in Dylan Drader, Walker English and Tristan Black Water to coach three junior high boys’ teams.

This spring, McTighe will be an assistant coach to Craig Patton for junior and senior varsity boys’ rugby.

“I am humbled and honoured to be recognized for the impact I have had so far as the nominee for Livingstone Range School Division for the Edwin Parr Award,” McTighe said.

School boards across the province nominate one exceptional candidate for the Edwin Parr Teacher Award to their Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) zone committee each year.

The successful nominees from each zone are honoured at the ASBA fall general meeting.

Edwin Parr was a school board trustee and president of the Alberta School Trustees Association from 1956-’62.

The Alberta School Boards Association created the Edwin Parr Award in 1964 to honour his legacy.

Subscribe Online Current Edition

Explore Spectacular Southwest Alberta (PDF)

2021 Explore Southwest Alberta magazine cover